Peregrino qualifies for FBLA Nationals

Story Photo

Representing SCHS at the FBLA State Leadership Conference were (front row, from left) Karen Gonzalez and Zayra Peregrino. (Back row) Jade Wren, Emily Glenn, Kaely Zilla, Karlee Logan and Lily Ayala.


Representing SCHS at the FBLA State Leadership Conference were (front row, from left) Karen Gonzalez and Zayra Peregrino. (Back row) Jade Wren, Emily Glenn, Kaely Zilla, Karlee Logan and Lily Ayala.

By Rod Haxton, editor

Video parody 3rd in state conference

A video parody promoting the Future Business Leaders of America has earned a Scott Community High School student a trip to the FBLA national conference.

Zayra Peregrino earned third place in the digital video production competition the State Leadership Conference held earlier this month in Topeka which qualified her for nationals. In addition, Karen Gonzales was 10th in computer applications.

They were among 2,000 to 2,500 FBLA students from across the state who took part in the conference.

Peregrino says her background in the video production class at SCHS paid huge dividends as her idea for a video began to take shape. The only guidelines for the competition were that the video had to be a parody and could not be longer than four minutes.

The SCHS senior chose to parody the song “The Hills” by the group “The Weeknd.” Using the instrumental part from the song, she and Judy Gutierrez rewrote the lyrics. Singing the rap song were Zayra’s younger brother, Cesar Peregrino, 9, and a friend, Arlette Herrera, 10, who were also the only two actors featured in the video.

“They had a lot of fun doing it. They think they’re famous now,” says Peregrino.

The video required about 35 hours of editing, but it was well worth the effort. Peregrino says the video turned out even better than expected.

It also impressed the judges who at first questioned whether she had actually done the work.

“The judges were very impressed with the high quality of the video,” says FBLA instructor Kevin Reese. “They wanted to know if there was any professional help involved. She explained that we have a video production class in the school which was a big help.”

Video entries were submitted to the state in early March for preliminary judging. Only the top five entries were invited to the state conference to make their presentation before a panel of judges.

Of those five, only the top three earned a trip to nationals.

In Topeka, Peregrino says she gave a seven minute presentation explaining how the video was created.

“The judges said it looked like a Hollywood video,” she noted.


Gonzales is 10th

Gonzales was the only other SCHS student to earn state recognition with a 10th place finish in computer applications.

The competition required Gonzales to work with four different software applications and complete several tasks within a two-hour time limit.

“I didn’t get everything completed, but Mr. Reese said the quality of our work was more important,” says the junior.

Reese noted that after completing the initial two-hour test, Gonzales had to take two additional tests while at the state conference.

While there was no district or regional competition required in order to advance to state, Reese said he took only those students who “had shown a lot of interest in a particular event and who I felt were committed enough to give it their best effort.”

“It should mean something to compete at the state level and I wanted only those kids who had the best chance of placing among the top 10,” he says. “Even though we only had two who placed, I feel we had two or three others who were very close.”

Others making the trip included Jade Wren, Kaely Zilla, Lily Ayala, Emily Glenn and Karlee Logan.


The National FBLA Conference will be held in Atlanta, Ga., from June 24-27.

No User Comments

Be the first to comment on this story.

Youth This Week

The Scott County Record Online The Scott County Record Online
Scott County Record
Search Stories & Photos Subscriber Login Bookmark This Page Calendar Poll
Record Community Poll
Do you want a Community/Wellness Center in Scott City?

View results
Version 2.08
Bottom Image